Madison Project Supports Tom Graves’s Bill To Defund Obamacare

Friday, September 13th, 2013 and is filed under Blog, News, Obamacare

Share with your friends

Yesterday, Rep. Tom Graves (GA) showed Republicans exactly what it means to defund Obamacare.  He put together a budget CR that completely funds the government for a full year while delaying and defunding Obamacare until 2015.  We fully support the Grave’s bill and this approach to tackling the budget deadline and Obamacare.

Despite strong pressure from leadership to fall in line, Graves has remained steadfast in leading House conservatives towards a path to defunding Obamacare.  The framers of the Constitution intended the House to lead the way with the power of the purse.  They need to pass this bill immediately and dump it on Harry Reid’s desk in the Senate.  If he desires to force a shutdown in order to throw people off their health insurance and chase doctors out of the field of medicine, that is his prerogative.

Below is the full writeup of the bill, along with the list of co-sponsors. We will be updating the list of co-sponsors as the names are added.  Please contact your representative and request that the he/she sign onto the Tom Graves CR:

Rep. Graves Introduces Plan To Keep Government Open, Stop Obamacare
Stability, Security and Fairness Resolution Introduced With 42 Cosponsors

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA-14) introduced the Stability, Security and Fairness Resolution (H.J.Res. 62), a plan to fund the government for Fiscal Year 2014 while fully delaying and defunding Obamacare until 2015.


“After weeks of working with and listening to members on how to approach the government funding deadline, it’s clear that House Republicans are united around two goals: keeping the government open and protecting our constituents from the harmful effects of Obamacare. Today, my 42 cosponsors and I are putting forward a plan that achieves both goals,” said Rep. Graves.

“This plan is straightforward. We will achieve long-term stability by funding the government for the next fiscal year. Additionally, the resolution includes the three House-passed appropriations bills that affect our national security and our veterans. Our troops, their families and our veterans should not have their priorities put on hold,” Graves continued. “Finally, our plan will achieve fairness for every American by fully delaying and defunding Obamacare until 2015. This approach builds upon the Obama Administration’s policy of delaying portions of Obamacare and relieves taxpayers of the burden of funding a program that is not being implemented.”

Stability, Security and Fairness Resolution Summary

Stability: Keeps the government open for FY2014.

  • A Continuing Resolution for FY2014 for the nine non-security bills, with overall spending at the post-sequestration number of $967.4 billion.

Security: Prioritizes funding for national security and veterans.

  • Includes the Defense, Homeland Security and Military Construction and Veterans Affairs appropriations bills for FY2014 as passed by the House.

Fairness: Provides healthcare fairness and taxpayer relief by defunding and delaying Obamacare until 2015.
The full text of the legislation is available here:
Original cosponsors of the resolution are:

Jim Jordan (OH-4)

Mark Meadows (NC-11)

Jeff Duncan (SC-3)

Steve Southerland (FL-2)

Doug Collins (GA-9)

Raúl Labrador (ID-1)

Trey Gowdy (SC-4)

Randy Weber (TX-14)

Pete Olson (TX-22)

Tom Marino (PA-10)

Steve Palazzo (MS-4)

Joe Pitts (PA-16)

Paul Broun (GA-10)

Matt Salmon (AZ-5)

Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-5)

Richard Hudson (NC-8)

Jeb Hensarling (TX-5)

Ron DeSantis (FL-6)

Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)

Thomas Massie (KY-4)

Phil Gingrey (GA-11)

Jim Bridenstine (OK-1)

Mo Brooks (AL-5)

Bill Cassidy (LA-6)

Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)

David Schweikert (AZ-6)

Scott Perry (PA-4)

Blake Farenthold (TX-27)

Bill Huizenga (MI-2)

Luke Messer (IN-6)

Bill Flores (TX-17)

Mick Mulvaney (SC-5)

Tim Huelskamp (KS-1)

Steve Daines (MT)

Joe Wilson (SC-2)

Marsha Blackburn (TN-7)

Reid Ribble (WI-8)

Tom Price (GA-6)

Austin Scott (GA-8)

Marlin Stutzman (IN-3)

Trent Franks (AZ-8)

Steve Chabot (OH-1)