21 Republicans Vote for Unconstitutional Interstate Online Sales Tax

Tuesday, May 7th, 2013 and is filed under Blog, News, Taxes

Share with your friends

Yesterday, 21 Republicans helped secure passage of the Orwellian-named Marketplace Fairness Act.  The bill would allow states to join together in a contract to force online retailers who earn more than $1 million in annual revenue to collect sales taxes on behalf of all 50 states based on the location of the shipping address.

In an effort to rectify what proponents see as an unfair tax advantage over brick and mortar stores, this bill will create a tendentious tax scheme for large online retailers with stores in multiple states, at the expense of small firms who will be encumbered with collecting taxes for almost 10,000 distinct tax jurisdictions.  The bill will also help grow government all over the country, hurt low-tax states, impose taxation without representation, and impede the freest venue of commerce in the world.

Here are the 21 Republicans:

  • Alexander, L. (TN)
  • Blunt (MO)
  • Boozman (AR)
  • Burr (NC)
  • Chambliss (GA)
  • Coats (IN)
  • Cochran (MS)
  • Collins, S. (ME)
  • Corker (TN)
  • Enzi (WY)
  • Fischer (NE)
  • Graham, L. (SC)
  • Hoeven (ND)
  • Isakson (GA)
  • Johanns (NE)
  • McCain (AZ)
  • Portman (OH)
  • Sessions, J. (AL)
  • Shelby (AL)
  • Thune (SD)
  • Wicker (MS)