23 GOP Senators Vote for Violence Against the Constitution Act

Wednesday, February 13th, 2013 and is filed under Blog, Issues

Share with your friends

The Senate voted today to reauthorize and expand the unconstitutional Violence Against Women Act (S.47).  You can read our full analysis on the bill here.  This bill vitiates due process, interjects the federal government into local law enforcement issues, violates the rights of citizens charged for domestic violence crimes on Indian reservations, promotes the homosexual agenda, and expands wasteful programs that have little success in combating domestic violence.

If all the Democrats need to do is give a bill a mellifluous-sounding name and demagogue the issue in order to scare Republicans, we have already lost the battle.  Only 22 Republicans opposed the bill.  Remember this is a fiscal and social issue.  We’ve got a serious problem when there is a consensus that something like domestic violence must be dealt with at a federal level.

Here are the 23 Republicans who have no respect for federalism, due process, and equal protection under the law:

  • Alexander, L. (TN)
  • Ayotte (NH)
  • Burr (NC)
  • Chambliss (GA)
  • Coats (IN)
  • Cochran (MS)
  • Collins, S. (ME)
  • Corker (TN)
  • Crapo (ID)
  • Fischer (NE)
  • Flake (AZ)
  • Heller (NV)
  • Hoeven (ND)
  • Isakson (GA)
  • Kirk (IL)
  • McCain (AZ)
  • Moran, Jerry (KS)
  • Murkowski, L. (AK)
  • Portman (OH)
  • Shelby (AL)
  • Toomey (PA)
  • Vitter (LA)
  • Wicker (MS)