Breaking: We’ve Defeated Anti-Sovereignty Treaty, Lost!

Friday, July 13th, 2012 and is filed under Blog, Issues, News

Share with your friends

Updated: Senators Isackson, Ayotte, and Portman have joined the 31 Republicans who signed the letter opposing LOST.  We now have 34 firm no votes, denying our opponents the 67 needed to pass the treaty.

With 67 senators required to pass the LOST anti-sovereignty treaty, this should have never been close. Democrats only have 53 seats in the Senate. The idea that 14 GOP senators would support a UN treaty that would share our seabed mining revenue with whacked out third-world countries is preposterous. Nonetheless, just a few weeks ago, it appeared that the left might win on this one. Now we are turning the tide.

This week, 31 senators signed a letter pledging to oppose LOST. That means we need just 3 more to permanently block this travesty. We need to put the last nail in the coffin as soon as possible. Many statists in the GOP foreign policy establishment are pulling out all the stops to get this thing ratified.

The 47 GOP senators can be divided into three groups; those who inexorably support the treaty, the 31 members who pledged to oppose it, and those who have not expressed a definitive opinion. It’s the latter 12 who need to hear from you.

Here is the breakdown:

 The 31 who are opposed to LOST:

Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ)

Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK)

Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Senator Pat Roberts (R-KS)

Senator David Vitter (R-LA)

Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)

Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)

Senator Jim Demint (R-SC)

Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK)

Senator John Boozman (R-AR)

Senator Rand Paul (R-KY)

Senator Jim Risch (R-ID)

Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)

Senator Jeff Sessions (R-AL)

Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Senator John Barrasso (R-WY)

Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL)

Senator John Thune (R-SD)

Senator Richard Burr (R-NC)

Senator Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)

Senator Dan Coats (R-IN)

Senator John Hoeven (R-ND)

Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS)

Senator Mark Rubio (R-FL)

Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS)

Senator Dean Heller (R-NV)

Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA)

Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA)

Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

Senator Mike Johanns (R-NE)

The 4 who hopelessly support LOST:

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

Olympia Snowe (R-ME),

Susan Collins (R-ME)

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)


The 12 who are equivocating and need to hear from you (we only need to pick off 3 more to defeat the treaty):

Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) 202-224-3324

Senator Scott Brown (R-MA) 202-224-4543

Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS) 202-224-5054

Senator Bob Corker (R-TN) 202-224-3344

Senator Mike Enzi (R-WY) 202-224-3841

Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC) 202-224-5972

Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) 202-224-5922

Senator Dick Lugar (R-IN) (202) 224-3854

Senator Johnny Isackson (R-GA) 202-224-3643

Senator John McCain (R-AZ) 202-224-2235

Senator Mark Kirk (R-IL) 202-224-2854

Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) 202-224-3353