Democrats Vote Against Bush Tax Cuts, Hand GOP Keys to Senate

Wednesday, July 25th, 2012 and is filed under Blog, Economy, Taxes

Share with your friends

Senate Democrats just handed Republicans the keys to the Senate for next year.  Will they take it?

The Senate just voted on a bill to fully extend the Bush tax cuts.  It was defeated 45-54.  All Republicans supported it except for Scott Brown and Susan Collins; all Democrats opposed it except for Mark Pryor (Arkansas).  Then, Democrats voted on their version of the bill, which would raise all taxes on those earning more than $200,000.  It passed 51-48.  Senators Lieberman and Webb joined every Republican in voting no (they are both retiring).  Mark Pryor voted with the Democrats, making a mockery out of his first vote.  In doing so, Democrats have voted to cripple the economy with tax increases across the board in a way that will preclude any hope of a recovery.

Keep in mind that this was only a vote on “the motion to proceed” with debate.  It will need 60 votes for final passage, so it will never become law.  However, this will open the door for a long amendment process full of show votes that we must monitor carefully.

Here are a number of Democrats from red/purple states who voted to raise taxes on almost every aspect of the economy; estates, dividends, capital gains, income, marriage, etc.  They are up for election during the next two cycles.  Republicans in those states must hang this around their necks every day until election day:


– Claire McCaskill – Missouri

– Sherrod Brown – Ohio

– Bill Nelson – Florida

– John Tester – Montana

-Joe Manchin- West Virginia

-Bob Casey – Pennsylvania

– Debbie Stabenow – Michigan


– Max Baucus – Montana

– Mark Begich – Alaska

– Jeanne Shaheen – New Hampshire

– Mary Landrieu – Louisiana

– Tom Harkin – Iowa

– Mark Udall – Colorado

– Mark Warner – Virginia

– Tim Johnson – South Dakota

– Kay Hagan – North Carolina

– Mark Pryor – Arkansas