Vote Tally of Postal Bailout Bill

Wednesday, April 25th, 2012 and is filed under Blog, Debt, Issues

Share with your friends

Today the Senate passed the postal bailout bill, S. 1789, by a 62-37 vote.  13 Republicans helped pass this bailout that actually prevents the post office from making the requisite cuts and restructuring to remain solvent.  In fact, the Postmaster General himself said that “the Senate’s bill would not enable the Postal Service to return to financial viability.”  Here are the 13 members:

  • Alexander, L. (TN)
  • Blunt (MO)
  • Boozman (AR)
  • Brown, Scott (MA)
  • Cochran (MS)
  • Collins, S. (ME)
  • Grassley (IA)
  • Hoeven (ND)
  • Moran, Jerry (KS)
  • Murkowski, L. (AK)
  • Roberts (KS)
  • Snowe (ME)
  • Wicker (MS)

Now it is up to Boehner to block this bill in the House.  He should pass a real reform bill, Issa-Ross, which allows the USPS to cut costs without receiving a bailout.