15 Republicans Vote for ‘Violence Against Women Act’

Friday, April 27th, 2012 and is filed under Blog, Issues

Share with your friends

We have the power to stop bad legislation in the senate with just 41 Republican senators.  Incidentally, we have 47.  But that has meant nothing this week.  We have seen a wholesale capitulation from Republicans on the postal bailout, highway bill, student loan bailout, appropriations bills, and now the Violence Against Women Act.  As we noted earlier this week, this bill greatly expands the original law to include protections for homosexuals, transgendered, illegal aliens, and prisoners.  Moreover, it encourages dangerous infringements on due process, equal protection, and the presumption of innocence for men.

The law passed 68-31 with the help of 15 Republicans.  Here is the list:

  • Alexander, L. (TN)
  • Ayotte (NH)
  • Brown, Scott (MA)
  • Coats (IN)
  • Collins, S. (ME)
  • Corker (TN)
  • Crapo (ID)
  • Heller (NV)
  • Hoeven (ND)
  • Hutchison, K. (TX)
  • McCain (AZ)
  • Murkowski, L. (AK)
  • Portman (OH)
  • Snowe (ME)
  • Vitter (LA)